Evangel Hospital Optometric Centre  

The brand new Optometric Centre of the Evangel Hospital located at Chun Seen Mei Chuen (opposite of Evangel Hospital) is newly opened in Dec 2017. It provides comprehensive eye care assessments, refraction and optical dispensing services to the neighborhood. The new Centre adopts simple and modern design, providing you a comfortable environment while enjoying our professional services.

 
 
 
Our Services  

● Visual Acuity Measurement
● Refraction
● Intra-ocular Pressure Measurement
● Cataract Examination
● Binocular Vision Assessment
● External Ocular Health Assessment
● Color Vision
● Stereopsis Test
● Cycloplegic Refraction
● Fundus Photography

 
 
 
Common Visual Problems  

 

Myopia (short-sightedness) is most frequently caused by the pro-longed length of the eyeball. The visual image is formed in front of the retina and blurry distant vision is resuled. Myopia can be corrected by using concave lenses with correct power to help bring back the image focus onto the retina.

Hyperopia (long-sightedness) occurs when the length of the eyeball being too short than normal, the visual image would therefore be formed behind the retina. Infants usually come with certain degree of hyperopia, such hyperopia would be decreased upon growth of the children. If the hyperopic prescription is mild, our eyes can accommodate and focus the image on the retina without causing any blur. For patients with over +3.00D of hyperopia who need to perform near tasks like reading and using computer frequently, convex lenses are often prescribed to relieve their stress.

Astigmatism is a condition caused by the non-spherical curvature of the cornea. The image formed on the retina would become blurry and elongated as a result. Double vision or headache would also be experienced. Astigmatism can occur in combination with hyperopia or myopia, and it can be treated with cylindrical lenses.

Presbyopia is caused by the decrease of elasticity of the crystalline lens and the decrease of accommodative power of the ciliary muscles which apply forces on the lens. The condition generally occurs after the age of 40. Presbyopia can be corrected with single vision lenses (reading glasses), bifocal lenses or progressive addition lenses.

Amblyopia (lazy eye) is characterized by poor vision even with the aid of glasses. During visual development, if either eye cannot receive a clear retinal image, the neural connection between that particular eye with the brain would be severely hindered. Amblyopia would be resulted if such condition does not change. It normally affects one eye only and children with anisometropia (difference of power between 2 eyes ≥ 3.00D) or strabismus are more likely to suffer from amblyopia. If detected early, amblyopia can be treated with appropriate prescription, eye patching and vision training.

Strabismus is caused by the misalignment of two eyes. When one eye fixates on a target and the other eye turns inward, it is called internal squint. On the other hand, when the eye turns outward, it is called external squint. The condition is often caused by imbalance of the extra-ocular muscles of the eyes or anisometropia. Strabismus can be treated with spectacles, vision therapy or surgery.

Color Vision Deficiencies &
Color Blindness
are usually congenital disorders. Color vision deficiency is characterized by the inability to differentiate certain colors, most commonly, red and green confusion, with yellow and blue confusion sometimes. This hereditary condition mainly affects male. Certain eye diseases like macula degeneration would also result in different levels of color deficiency. The condition would be more obvious in dim light environment. Color blindness, on the other hand, patients would just perceive colorless vision despite of black, white and different levels of grey.

Congenital color vision could not be cured. When children are diagnosed with color vision defects, their teachers should be informed so that their educational instruction would not be color-coded. In addition, they should be aware that certain occupations are not suitable for them (e.g. pilot).

Glaucoma is a disease caused by the damage of retinal ganglion cells and the optic nerve, results in vision loss and constriction of visual field. The incidence of getting glaucoma is higher for people having myopia. Symptoms are not noticeable to patients in the early stage. Glaucoma leads to the constriction of visual field from peripheral towards the central field, while an entire loss of visual field and blindness would be resulted eventually if untreated.

Cataract is a condition which the crystalline lens in eye turns hazy and reduced in transparency. The most common cause of cataract is ageing, leading the lens to become cloudy and hardened. Other causes including congenital causes, trauma, excessive exposure to ultra violet or other general health problems. Blurry vision is the most common symptom of cataract, sometimes associated with experience of glare when viewing light sources. Cataract could be treated by surgery with intra-ocular lens implemented to improve the vision of the patient.

Macula is the central part of the retina with high density of photoreceptors. It is responsible for central and high acuity vision. Age related macular degeneration begins with pigment changes around the macular region. Abnormal growth of blood vessels, leakage of blood, scarring and edema may be resulted in severe cases. Early changes could have no obvious symptoms but as the condition progresses, it will cause blurry and distorted central vision and complete loss of central vision eventually if left untreated.

Retinal Detachment is a disorder caused by the thinning and degeneration of peripheral retina which results in breaks, tears or holes on the retina, followed by tearing off of the retina from its normal position. This leads to loss of functions of the photoreceptor cells. Elongated eyeball (frequently associated with high myopic people), eye trauma, diabetes, tumor or inflammation are more prone to have retinal detachment. Common symptoms include increased number of floaters, light flashes and the loss of visual field. If there is a sudden dramatic increase of floaters, flashes of light, shimmering, or if the visual field appeared slanted/ distorted, patients should consult a specialist immediately. Retinal detachment can permanently damage patients’ visual functions.

 
 
 

Tips to PROTECT your eyes

 

1. Keep the prints at a minimum distance of 30 cm from the eyes.
2. Let the eyes relax and see distant things 30 minutes after every 30 minutes near task like reading and doing homework.
3. Adequate sleep so that the eyes could have entire rest.
4. Outdoor activities like hiking help relax of the eyes.
5. Adequate but not stinging room lighting at the working environment.
6. Avoid starring at a flashing target, to reduce the chance of getting headache and eye fatique.
7. Keep a balanced diet. Have more intake of food rich in vitamins and anti-oxidants like broccoli and corns.

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Serivce Location
Shop 15, G/F, Chi Chun Lau, Chun Seen Mei Chuen, Fu Ning Street, Kowloon City.
 
 
 
Service Hours
Mon - Sat 11:00am - 7:30pm
Sunday & Public Holidays Closed
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Enquiry & Appointment
Tel : 2526 5308

視光中心  

全新播道醫院視光中心於2017年12月4日開始投入服務,中心位於九龍城真善美村(播道醫院對面),為市民提供全面視力檢查,眼睛健康評估及眼鏡驗配等服務。新店設計簡約富時代感,讓您在舒適的環境中享受優質專業的視光服務。

 
 
 
服務範圍  

● 衝擊波治療
● 視力測試
● 視力度數檢查
● 眼內壓檢查
● 白內障檢查
● 雙眼協調評估
● 眼睛外部健康檢查
● 色弱
● 立體視力測試
● 放瞳視力度數檢查
● 眼底攝影

 
 
 
常見眼睛及視力問題  

 

近視是指眼睛所見到的影像對焦在視網膜的前面,多是由於眼球比正常較長引起。近視患者看遠距離的景物會比較模糊,可透過配戴正確度數的凹透鏡 ,令影像清淅對焦於視網膜上,矯正視力。

遠視是指眼睛所見到的影像對焦在眼視網膜的後面,多是由於眼球比正常較短引起。初生嬰兒通常都會有遠視,這類遠視一般會隨眼球成長而自然矯正。輕度遠視患者可利用眼球調節力使景物清晰,但深遠視的患者(超過300度),如需經常看書或電腦,調節需求較大就會容易感到眼睛疲勞而對焦不清。遠視可透過配戴凸透鏡,矯正視力。

散光是由於角膜表面的弧度不一致而引起,以致光線進入角膜時聚焦不一致,令眼睛所見到的影像糢糊不清、出現重影、望向光源時影像特別糢糊。近視或遠視患者均有機會患上散光。散光可透過配戴合適的散光鏡矯正。

老花是由於眼球內的晶狀體逐漸失去彈性,睫狀肌的調節能力減弱,使看近東西及閱讀時出現模糊不清的情況。。老花大多於40歲時開始出現,可透過單光鏡片、雙光鏡片或漸進鏡片來改善視力。

弱視,俗稱懶惰眼,是指即使配戴了正確度數的眼鏡,仍未能看得清楚景物。在視覺系統發展時期,雙眼如未能同時將清晰的影像投射於視網膜上,腦部負責視覺發展的區域便會得不到正常的視覺刺激。若情況持續,大腦最終會放棄了部份的視力功能,以致視力未能正常發展,形成弱視。弱視多數出現在一邊眼睛,鴛鴦度數或斜視兒童較容易出現弱視。及早發現的弱視,有機會能透過配戴合適度數的眼鏡、遮眼及視力訓練改善視力。

斜視是指兩邊眼睛視軸不一致。若果當一隻眼注視物件時,另一隻眼則向內移望往另一個方向,這種情況就稱為內斜視。若果當一隻眼注視物件時,另一隻眼則向外移望往另一個方向,這種情況就稱為外斜視。斜視多是由於眼球肌肉長得不夠均勻對稱或兩眼度數相差太大所致,可透過配戴合適度數的眼鏡、視覺訓練或手術矯正。

色盲和色弱都是先天性辨色能力異常所致,屬遺傳性的視覺問題。色弱患者中,最普遍是混淆紅色和綠色,其次有少部分人則屬於黃、藍色弱,同時亦以男性較多。但有些眼疾如黃斑點病變也可導致不同種類和程度的色弱。在光線不足的情況下,色弱問題會較為明顯。至於色盲,患者完全沒有分辨顏色的能力,所看見的景物只有黑白深淺之分。

青光眼是指視覺神經損壞及周邊神經細胞壞死,繼而造成視力衰退及視野收窄的病症。深近視的患者患上青光眼的機會較高。青光眼早期病徵並不明顯,患者的視野會慢慢由正常收窄,到後期減退至只剩下中央部份。若沒有適當治理,便會視力下降,甚至有可能失明。

白內障是指眼睛內的晶狀體變得混濁。白內障的形成主要因年齡增長,晶狀體變質、硬化和混濁,其他成因包括﹕遺傳,外傷,過度吸收紫外線或全身性疾患等因素而引起。常見的症狀包括視覺逐漸變得模糊,有時會覺得光線周圍出現光圈。白內障可透過手術摘取,並植入人工晶體以改善患者視力。

黃斑點是視網膜的中央組織,負責中央視力及觀看細微影像。病變初起時會有新增色素出現在黃斑點附近,嚴重時會有新增血管,滲漏,結疤及水腫等情況,破壞視網膜中央的細胞。初期無明顯病徵,但如不及早診治,中央視野會逐漸模糊、景物彎曲、變形。患者的視力會慢慢減退,最終可能會失去中央視力。

視網膜脫落是由於視網膜外圍退化或變薄後出現裂縫或小洞,因嚴重拉扯而脫落,令感光細胞失去功能。眼球過長、眼睛受傷、糖尿病上眼、腫瘤或眼底發炎亦會引發視網膜脫落。常見徵狀有﹕出現嚴重飛蚊、閃光、失去部分視野。患者如看見數量多的「飛蚊」或「閃光」現象,應盡快安排檢查。視網膜脫落的眼睛很快便會失去功能,導致局部視野缺損甚至失明。

 
 
 
護眼小貼士  

1. 閱讀時保持至少三十厘米距離。
2. 每三十分鐘近距離工作,如閱讀及做功課,要休息三十分鐘,讓眼球看遠景放鬆。
3. 充足睡眠,使眼睛有充份的休息。
4. 多進行戶外活動如行山,有助放鬆眼球。
5. 工作環境需保持光線充足,光線不能刺眼。
6. 避免看着閃動不定的映像,以減低頭痛及眼睛疲倦的機會。
7. 保持均衡飲食,多進食含豐富維他命及含抗氧化成分的食物如西蘭花及粟米等。

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
服務地點

九龍城富寧街真善美村至真樓地下15號舖
電話:2526 5308

 
 
 
服務時間
星期一至六 早上9時至下午7時30分
星期日及公眾假期 早上11時至下午6時
 
 
 
查詢及預約
電話 : 2526 5308
 
 
 

播道醫院 ©2013 版權所有